[Comic Review] Week of 2013/04/03 Highlights

This week seemed to be a fairly heavy week as far as some titles went. Personally, I know my pull list had a little extra oomph than it normally does, and overall, most titles read well.

Photo Courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Photo Courtesy of Marvel Comics.

As always, Age of Ultron has continued to be strong with issue #4 hitting shelves. Things seem to keep getting thicker as each issue comes along. This time around, Bendis’ one-liners give the title a little something extra, as does his writing style in general. There were a couple “deaths” worth mentioning: [SPOILER] She-Hulk dies while giving Cage a chance to see what all the hubbub is about in Ultron’s ship. The end result is Cage barely making his way to a safe-haven in the Savage Lands to share what intel he gathered and then he too passes on. With all the ‘clumps’ of heroes coming together, it looks like the only way forward lies in the future…literally! If this 10-issue run can keep this up, each release is going to be a power-house on the shelves. And with the big G-Man (Gaiman) on board for Marvel’s final issue…well…let’s just say I’m excited as all get-out. Although what I’ve read is that the UA scenario is going to end in a ‘Marvel NOW’ 2.0-ish revamp, I’m looking toward seeing what all comes about.

Photo Courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Photo Courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Next on the list is, of course, The Superior Spider-Man #7. This series has read great so far. Although I haven’t written much concerning it lately (only covering Issue #2) it still remains strong. I was worried when Ryan Stegman left the art on the title, but the creative team that followed has lended their talent to the series and haven’t come up short once. Dan Slott has kept things interesting with the Octavius vs Peter Parker complication (almost in Ghost-like fashion). Each issue has Parker’s personality/memories growing stronger and his ‘voice’ being ‘heard’. Although curious to see how it all plays out, I have a feeling Parker is going to win out.

There has been much going on in previous issues as well. If you haven’t kept up (like I hadn’t…time was not on my side with my class schedule and personal life) I recommend doing so. I dig the dark and brooding mentality Octavious has brought to the character. With several characters, such as [SPOILER] the Vulture, Jester and Screwball amongst others getting severally beaten and Massacre’s life being brought to an and at the hands of Spider-Man is an interesting twist. Although I’m sure some long-time Spidey fans might disagree, I feel that this adds to the progression of the character. And, now that several parties involved are starting to see this change in the Superhero…well…it’s going to get interesting, especially with this issue lining things up for an Avengers intervention.

Photo Courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Photo Courtesy of Marvel Comics.

This week, Marvel keeps rolling out solid titles with the first issue of Thanos Rising.  I haven’t read much on previews for this story, so I hadn’t known what to expect when I picked it up. All that I know is, the end result was me being quite entertained as learning a little about the characters past…specifically his childhood. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about a being such as Thanos as a result of childhood ostracism and bullying…but hey…it’s the guilt pleasure of the week. Im looking forward to the next issue, and if anyone even has a remote urge to check the title out, I highly recommend it.

Photo Courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Photo Courtesy of Marvel Comics.

This brings us to All-New X-Men #10. This series has yet to run out of steam, and for being a bi-weekly release, that is saying quite a bit. The story keeps it fresh and engaging and this issue isn’t any different. This issue sees the induction of Mastermind’s daughter into the ranks of Mystique’s clique, whose ambitions are still rather vague other than whatever it is, is going to cost a fortune to pull off. Cyclops pays a visit to the School in an attempt to explain his side of things and even offering a hand towards those who wish to join him. I felt like this added considerably to the story, especially once you throw in a young Summers being torn as to what to do…having the character with a past mentality see what has happened and end up still straddling the fence as to what path to take…it’s great! And, throw in a climax that had me guessing and anxious for issue #11 to arrive…well…you just have to read it to find out, but I know I was like “WHO?!?” once I set eyes on the last panel!

Photo Courtesy of DC Comics.

Photo Courtesy of DC Comics.

Lastly this week, DC made my list of titles with The Flash #18. With the Gorilla Warfare story arc at an end, it’s curious to see in which direction the creative team will take things. This issue felt a little off in terms of direction. Keep in mind this wasn’t a bad thing, although I was left scratching my head.

With things returning to ‘normal’ after everything that has developed was a nice change of pace. Now, however, the Flash is left to deal with a newly introduced duo who have gotten a small taste of powers as a result of previous happenings. That seemed to be the focus, and although slightly humorous encounters ensued…I felt a little overwhelmed with how this new factor was introduced to both myself (as the reader) and to Flash (in terms of no real plot exposure).

Leave a Reply

