[Comic Review] Week of 2013/03/27 Highlights

Photo Courtesy of IDW Publishing.

Photo Courtesy of IDW Publishing.

I have to say that I’ve been happy with IDW Publishing’s Judge Dredd title. I’ve been a fan of the character since I was a child and subscribed to 2000 A.D. Although lacking the British magazine’s variousness, the fact that this focuses on Dredd and the world in which he lives is what keeps it on my pull list.

With the addition of this weeks Judge Dredd#5, the creative team behind the title continues with their robot revolution story that we’ve seen take a slight hiatus with the clone and Judge Tarjay stories.

In this issue, Judge Dredd must respond to a Droid that turned on its owner, a teenage sensation that films his adventures into the seedier side of Mega-City One and releases them for public consumption.

The biggest difference in IDW’s version compared to others is that it’s not the raw styling that I’ve grown up with. It’s not bad, by any means…it just takes me a minute or two to adjust each issue as I’ve been used to previous artists interpretations. I do, however, appreciate the direction the team has taken Dredd into.

Photo courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Photo courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Marvel seems to be turning themselves around a bit with their whole NOW platform. Some series, like the All-New X-Men and Superior Spider-Man have been solid since day one. When I heard they were going to be putting out an Age of Ultron, I will admit, I was a little skeptical. When the second issue was release, I was advised I needed to check the series out. After a twist of the arm (no, not really…I am an easy sell, after all) I caved and picked up the first issue. I was amazed. The art is great and the writing even better. Bendis and crew are superb at what they do and their packaging is tight. When I went back the next day, issue #2 was waiting in my pull box. When This week’s #3 came out, I was down-right giddy.

In this issue, Captain America’s big plan starts to unfold and as it turns out, a deal is going to be had…or at least, on the surface. I have to say both the route taken here, the characters involved (and I must say that even though I am not always a huge fan of all of Marvel’s superheroes here everyone gets a bit of the action). The climax is also a resounding “Huh” moment, and has me waiting to see what is going to happen next! And I have to say that I’m more than a little curious to see how they manage several ‘tie-ins’ that are on their way (Superior Spider-Man and Fantastic Four being released this week as well).

Photo courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Photo courtesy of Marvel Comics.

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy has been one of those titles I’ve been waiting for every since I read it was coming to store shelves. Guardians of the Galaxy #0.1 was a decent enough prelude to the title and I have to say that I was impressed. With Guardians of the Galaxy #1…I’m left slightly scratching my head. In a ploy, Peter Quill’s father managed a little ‘reverse psychology’ on his son, and for whatever reason and to what unknown end…managed to get Peter to be at the right place at the right time as earth was going to be attacked.

The artwork here is great. Although not a shiny as some of the others that have come out this week, this one does manage to hold its own. The writing, for what it is, is decent enough. My only complaint here is that not much ground is covered in the limited page number alotted. Unfortunately, Iron Man/Tony Stark makes an appearance and from the looks of things will be around for a while. Not that I don’t like the character, but I do often times get tired of the same handful of heroes popping up throughout Marvel’s line.

This series is worth checking out, as it’s still in its early numbers who knows which direction the creative time is going to take it. I just hope that issue #2 will have a bit more to sink my teeth into.

P.S. Rocket Raccoon Enough said.

Photo courtesy of Dark Horse Comics.

Photo courtesy of Dark Horse Comics.

I cannot say enough concerning Dark Horse’s The Black Beetle series. Every issue is amazing and enjoyable. When I first saw Francesco Francavilla’s work, I adored it. Seeing it here, even more so. I’m a sucker for noir-style pieces and this simply screams pulp. The overall feel of it is enough to make me want more.

In this story, we find the Black Beetle continuing his search for the mystery nemesis from the previous issue. Stumbling across one another’s paths once more, we find the Black Beetle on a little bit of the receiving end the unknown character’s whim. Making some progress, the ending of the issue is in preparation depicts the Black Beetle all dressed up and heading into a club club.

The artwork is phenomenal. I dig the styling and the choice of color palette. The story is engrossing. Overall, I will most likely say this is the best release of the week and worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

