[Comic Review] The Superior Spider-Man #2

TheSuperiorSpiderMan002Dan Slott and his team at Marvel Comics have done something amazing…and although I was not a Slott ‘hater’ with the wrapping up of Amazing Spider-Man, I had no idea this is what was going to be coming next.

I enjoyed The Superior Spider-Man #1 enough that I wanted to keep with it. Now, with the release of The Superior Spider-Man #2…I’m left feeling speechless.

First thing’s first. Stegman and Delgado’s finished art is eye candy. I couldn’t help but love every panel my eyes came across. It’s both gritty and dark, yet crisp and clean (I know…I don’t get it either!). A lot of times, a book’s cover can be the best part of the title. In this case, it’s the exact opposite. The cover is simple, Octo-Peter and MJ kissing with a black background. Not over-the-top and not too understated. Then BAM!! Once I cracked open the cover, my eyes were overwhelmed with artistic goodness. Stegman…you are amazing and in rare form!

And now for Mr. Dan Slott. There was a lot of “controversy” surrounding the wrap up of The Amazing Spider-Man. I, personally, thought it was an interesting way to bring in a newer embodiment of Spider-Man. Did I necessarily like every aspect? Of course not, but in my view it was a story that should have been longer that was instead shoe-horned into three releases (Amazing Spider-Man #698-700). In what could have been a release or to in and of itself was crammed into only a couple of pages (the culmination and finale of #700).

This issue, The Superior Spider-Man #2 was what I’ve been waiting for, and if this is a taste for what is to come I do ever foresee myself wanted to put this title down. Here we have Octo-Peter struggling with his old habits. That villain shining through in moments where Peter would have given into his emotions. The tech-savvy genius trying to make the most effective use of his time even go so far as “making an app for that” approach which had me chuckling. Not to mention (SPOILER) the next villain being introduced. Who doesn’t love the Vulture…especially one in a world revamped where we may not know what to expect!

If there were any doubts to fanboys…I hope this issue quells some of the internet hatred of the creative team. If they can bring out an issue like this that I felt was knocked totally out of the ball park…I think that alone speaks volumes to both the dedication and future the team sees in this title.

Rating: 10/10 Gingered Digits!

Reasoning: Artwork (2/2), Character Development (2/2), Climax (2/2), Plot Development (2/2), Story (2/2).

Leave a Reply

