[Comic Review] Lot 13 #3

Lot13003When I started reading DC ComicsLot 13, I had my reservations. A horror comic from a rather family-friendly company (it’s more risqué titles shuffled over to Vertigo), I thought I was going to be in for a laugh. However, with Lot 13 #3, my opinion is starting to change.

The story is starting to ramp up, and what has been lacking from the two previous issues is not being filled in.

The hotel the family found themselves in is on the border of living and the dead. Although why all of this is happening now hasn’t been touched yet, it have become obvious that whatever is going on the family is stuck right in the middle as the dead have come alive and have started haunting this building. Layouts change, doorways open into times past. I found myself rather impressed, and although there isn’t much in terms of story the thrill is enough to more than make up for it. Plus, the ending is not one that I saw coming.

The artwork here is also good. Although more pencil/colored pencil in appearance, colors still leave a striking image on each and every page. Blood and gore stand out clearly when in contrast with the rest. The dead…or rather undead…leave me feeling a little uncomfortable.

Rating: 8/10 Gingered Digits.

Reasoning: Artwork (1.5/2), Character Development (1.5/2), Climax (2/2), Plot Development (1.5/2), Story (1.5/2).

Leave a Reply

