[Comic Review] Invincible #99

Invincible099I am a little late on the bandwagon to Image’s invincible line. I actually decided to start picking up the series due to its relation with Guarding the Globe. So, I don’t know all there is to know as far as what’s going on and who is who (other than the few that appears in the branch off series), but what I do know is…this series is AMAZING!

In Invincible #99 the end of the world is nigh! Or at least, that’s the direction we’re led to believe. No matter the outcome (and doubtful we’re going to see a large portion of the population wiped out by Dinosaurus’ master plan) it’s going to be interesting. Although this book is heavily revolved around Invincible and Dinosaurus’ battling it out in Los Angeles, it has enough panning around to other members of his team to break it up. This factor is one I find endearing of this series.

The artwork is also phenomenal! I love the inking and the color…it literally pops off the page. From what I can tell from flipping though the volumes of previous issues, it has remained as such since relatively early on. The full page panels are outstanding. I love the final full page panel with Invincible’s head being mushed by Dinosaurus’ giant mitts. If I could get this as a print, I would, that how much it struck a cord with me!

Rating: 8/10 Gingered Digits.

Reasoning: Artwork (2/2), Character Development (1/2), Climax (2/2), Plot Development (1.5/2), Story (1.5/2).

Leave a Reply

