[Comic Review] Aquaman #14

Aquaman #14

I hope everyone in the U.S. enjoyed their holiday filled with poultry-goodness and full bellies. As things settle down yet again, it’s time to hanker down and get back to business as usual.

Between this week and last, a plethora of comics have been released that were on my pull list. Although I doubt I’ll be able to get to all of them, I figure I might as well try to shoehorn as much of the bigger releases and small gems as I can before next week’s onslaught of scheduled releases.

So, without further ado, let’s take a look at DC ComicsAquaman #14.

Now, I’ve been wanting to get into this series from the get go, but, having starting late on the whole “New 52” release schedule, I missed out and have been waiting to find a decent spot to hop on board. With the Aquaman and Justice League crossover story arc (entitled Throne of Atlantis) gearing up with this issue, I figure it’s as good a time as any.

Having not gotten into this series until this issue dropped, I have absolutely no clue on the backstory and direction this “New 52” version is taking.

That being said, this issue did a wonderful job of immersing me as best as possible in its small number of pages. An Atlantean  relic has been taken. Aquaman is aware and has his suspicions, which includes his brethren.

The story itself is dubbed a “prelude” to the story at hand, but it gave me enough of a taste to want to pick up the following issues. I am not a fan of Justice League and probably never will be, but I’m interested enough #15-17 to find out what happens. If the story continues to revolve around the Aquaman character, I’m not going to care that Superman or Batman are in the group.

The artwork here is also amazing. The coloring and inking are balanced nicely and some of the two-page spreads are beautiful in their own right. I’m happy to say that, delving into Aquaman for the first time was not a disappointment.

Rating: 9.5/10 Gingered Digits.

Reasoning: Artwork (2), Character Development (2), Climax (2), Plot Development (1.5), Story (2).

Leave a Reply

