[Comic Review] Fantastic Four #1

Fantastic Four #1I wanted to enjoy this title…honestly I did. Unfortunately, this particular roll out into Marvel’s whole new “Marvel Now” line fell a little short of spectacular.

Fantastic Four #1 was not what I had hoped. It felt almost like it was rushed to be put into production. There were several could-have-beens that didn’t quite make it.

Being a new rollout, even though the characters have been around for quite some time, a little backstory would have done well in this issue. Instead, it assumes the reader has already had previous knowledge of the Fantastic Four and all of the group’s escapades.

What this title does, however, is foreshadow quite a bit. With a glimpse of the “future” in the first panel, we find that Franklin Richards saw what is coming their way. And, it involves space. Yep…space.

I do like the artwork here though, and hopefully that continues. There are some layout issues I felt hurt a couple pages, but overall, it was great!

This series is one I will most likely keep reading, at least for a while. I want to give it a chance, and having not been much into Marvel for so long, I want something I can get into that isn’t the Avengers, X-Men or Spider-Man (although Spidey is one of my faves!). It also seems like Fantastic Four and FF are going to be inter-related, as this story continues in FF #1.

Time will tell.

Rating: 5.5 Gingered Digits.

Reasoning: Story (1), Artwork (2), Plot Development (1), Character Development (1), Climax (0.5).

Leave a Reply

