[Comic Review] Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1-2

Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1I’m no entirely sure what to think about the Rorschach line under DC ComicsBefore Watchmen series.

In Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1 I feel the art is…a little to…off for me. I’m not sure if it’s the shading/highlighting, or the fact that it uses realism techniques, but I struggled with it. Anyone that reads my entries knows I’m a rather large fan of a rougher, almost gritty, style of art. And, when I picture reading about Rorschach…that’s the image that I get in my mind.

The storyline is also a little questionable. In the other titles in this series that I’ve read so far (Comedian and Silk Spectre) you get a real taste for the characters within. You feel for them, in a sense. That sensation is not one I had when I sat this title down. We literally have two pages of flashbacking text over “current” panels, working a bit of backstory in as the real story progressed. I don’t feel that did the Rorschach character justice. I’m sorry, but simply saying the character is the way he is, is due to his mother…well…great…but show it to me. Show me why I should give a hoot about this character.

Then, in what I felt was a rather short period of time, Rorschach gets his tookus handed to him, and almost de-masked. All in the first book!

This series only being four parts, I hope there is going to be a quick turnaround to make it more palatable. There is so much that could have been done with this character, and for whatever reason, I feel that its creators are hindering themselves too much and not thinking outside of the box.

Rating: 4/10 Gingered Digits.

Reasoning: Poor story, no character development, iffy artwork, little plot development.

Before Watchmen: Rorschach #2It seems that with Before Watchmen: Rorschach #2, the creators are at least coming around a little bit.

The first thing I noticed when I picked this title up was the cover. I loved it.

Then, once I opened its pages, I felt myself coming around more to appreciating this issue than the previous. Yes, the artwork is the same (see above), but the story is picking up. Although nothing from the main character’s past is discussed, there is more of who the character that is conveyed.

More of Rorschach’s street tough persona comes across, as well as the character’s style of investigation.

Still lacking in the “meat” department, at least this issue gives you something to chew on, even if only for a little bit. I still felt wanting after this title, but, not left as empty as the previous. The plot development is a little more prominent as well.

Rating: 5/10 Gingered Digits.

Reasoning: Some character development, some plot development, iffy story, iffy artwork.

Leave a Reply

