[Comic Review] Billy the Kid’s Old Timey Oddities and the Orm of Loch Ness #1

BILLY THE KID’S OLD TIMEY ODDITIES AND THE ORM OF LOCH NESS #1I love The Goon. I love the story. I love the art. So, when I heard about some of the other side projects Eric Powell had going on, I was ecstatic.

Billy the Kid’s Old Timey Oddities and the Orm of Loch Ness #1, released under Dark Horse Comics, ceased to disappoint! The story was off-kilter in a way only Powell can pull off. And, with my soft spot for anything western, it took my enjoyment for this title to a whole other level! And, in the end, this issue introduced a character I didn’t see coming.

The art in this title is also amazing. Dark. Gritty. In a class all of it’s own. The colors are amazing. The characters are great…just the right amount of posturing and over exaggeration, especially in the faces, make them distinct and quite unique.

This title’s weirdness fits in perfectly for this time of year (Halloween), and whether it #1 of 4 was released this way on purpose or not, it makes it stand out even more on the rack. I can’t wait for the next issues.

Rating: 10/10 Gingered Digits.

Reasoning: Superb artwork, great story, great concept, seasonally fashionable.

Leave a Reply

