[Comic Review] Evil Ernie: Origins of Evil #1

Evil Ernie: Origins of Evil #1I only vaguely remember the character of Evil Ernie. I’ve never much cared for Lady Death, and once the character became attached to that series, what little I do remember ends.

That being said, Evil Ernie #1 (1 of 4 in the Origins of Evil arc), released by Dynamite, was rather enlightening. It introduces just how Ernie came to be, and his quest to hit the magic number of 666 kills. The character I am familiar with doesn’t show his face until the final panel, one kill short of his goal.

I’m not a huge fan of the art. Although I can’t put my finger on it, something about it just doesn’t sit well with me. Some panels feel airbrushed to tidy things up, and although I’m not familiar with the artists technique, I’m not a huge fan.

The art doesn’t detract from the story however, and there’s a little something in side of me that can’t help but like the main character. As it’s only a four-part arc, I’m more than likely going to follow through and grab the other three upon their release. Whether or not there’s longevity here, I don’t know. But for a little giggle and some guilty mass murdering pleasure, I don’t mind spending the $3.99 a floppy.

Rating: 6/10 Gingered Digits.

Leave a Reply

