[Comic Review] Blue Beetle #1

Blue Beetle #1I want to start out by saying that I am a HUGE fan of the Blue Beetle Character as a whole. In fact, it may be one of my all-time favorites.

But…I despise this version. I do not care for how it’s portrayed. I do not care for it’s story. I cannot stand the fact that this variant has been around for as long as it is. I just can’t stand it…period.

Now, moving on. This is my first attempt at delving into reading a comic digitally. And, I just want to say, I don’t care for that very much either! I don’t care for the interface DC Comics uses. It takes away from my enjoyment. It distracts me from getting the full scope of the comic.

However, my inner hatred aside for the current incarnation and my disappointment with the digital format, DC’s Blue Beetle #1 does have some redeeming factors. Not enough for me to keep wanting to buy into the series (although…I may invest in a trade or two), but enough to lift it up from the bowels of, in my opinion, the comic world.

I dig the artwork, especially once it gets going. I liked how #1 worked in how Jaime Reyes managed to acquire his powers. The flow was nice, and the introduction of villains was not completely overwhelming.

What do I not like about the current incarnation? All of it. Jaime Reyes is no Dan Garrett or Ted Kord. I don’t care for the ‘tween theme the character has taken on. I understand it strikes cords with certain crowds. And, I even enjoy it from time to time with the Teen Titans series, but, not when it comes to my Blue Beetle. The fact that the scarab has been reintroduced as an alien tool of war. It sucks the mystery and almost Average Joe quality from the character. Now, instead of being someone with no real powers until the item is used, the Blue Beetle has become a superhero of alien proportions.

All in all, my final verdict is that, unless something changes, this title is not for me.

Rating: 4/10 Gingered Digits.

Leave a Reply

